24, stray poems, stalking.

"Everything it seems I like's a little bit stronger, a little bit thicker, a little bit harmful for me." -Rufus Wainwright, "Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk".

This song is quite whimsical. I dig it. I took an hour+ nap today which will most likely derail my entire sleeping process unless I do something hyperdramatic like knock myself out with whiskey and sad single music, just me and my guitar and a bottle and some lyrics scrawled here and there. I would hope that one of my roommates would walk in on my passed-out form and see the epitome of sadness and the plotline of most country songs lieing on the floor. Actually, they'd most likely take a strong swig and gently place the bottle back in my numb fingertips, and walk out. What jerks.

Actually, that whole block o' text is pretty unlike me. Anyone who knows me would agree (I hope. heh).

The Autumns rework four old songs in their new EP and it's fantastic.

Check this out: my last three physics homeworks have been 20/20 and I currently have an 87% average on my weekly online tests. I'm an English major. I'm not supposed to be good at this. Then again, that's what they said about ninjitsu before I eradicated the Cho Yun clan and freed the northern-most Sei Long temples in Japan in 1741, with no previous experience. Ah, memories. Of course, I was young and crazy back then. Now I'm just shorter.

I'm also actively stalking my cohort in Aesthetics class. Her name is Catherine and she thinks (like a large percentage of the population) that I'm gay. I can't convince her. Whatever. I may make out with a guy here and there, but that doesn't make me gay. It just makes me more intimate than most with my friends! I also think that I may have burnt the tofu I was cooking today because the smoke seems to have settled into my eyes and started eating the back of my skull, because I can't really write today. Maybe it's because virtually nothing happened. Maybe it's because I lifted legs today and now I feel like I can't walk up my stairs. Maybe it's because of Laura. Or maybe it's the fact that KISS can't seem to find the right time to retire besides perpetually constantly expanding their tour. Gene Simmons... just let it go, man. Nice and easy.

The truth must dazzle gradually

Not flare like 10,000 screaming TV screens but

Quietly unfold like origami,

Angled ridges and symmetry

Mystery or some sort of

Silent movie � between the flickering projector screen

And the reel-to-reel reality the dense

Fog of monotnoy quietly dissolving

From this truth that dances

Would you be here with me?

Already practically staggering from

Theoretically imagining what

Your bare back resembles, how your

Shoulder blades assemble to create

That slight V shaped swell, shadows

Thrown from that truth now blown up behind us

Like a spotlight made from tightly-woven trust

And all of this translucient beneath this

30 seconds before sunrise fading nova of a dream.

going to watch "24" for the first time,

Jared


2003-02-18 at 7:49 p.m.