NIN WOOOO

Re: NIN show tonight.

It was great. It was decidedly less epic than the first one I saw at the Pepsi center, which is understandable, since the Pepsi center holds about a million people and the Fillmore (where I was tonight) holds about 2,000. Of course, it was more intimate.

I'm not one for moshing. I think it's pretty base and disrespectful to the ones around you at the show who are just there to enjoy the band that they paid to see. But I was on the outskirts of the pit and was just feeling so on that I got in there. There's some ethics to the pit - people watch out for one another (at least in good pits - in the bad ones, it's full of bastards who want to hit, hit, hit). The people around me were nice. So I leapt about, got some of the stress out, ran my throat raw and came back, drenched in sweat. Saw my lovely girlfriend (via her last-minute surprise visit because her friend had free tickets and invited her), gave her a smooch, and then hung out with Justin and Melati for the rest of the show. I couldn't find Annie, so don't think that I'm a jerk.

The new album sounds rad live. I think because of the small setting I really got a chance to vent without anything really getting in the way, and I feel better, especially since earlier in the day I was at an all-time low. I couldn't do anything right, couldn't please anyone. It's a little better now. I think on some level this show is what I needed.

I saw Carrie, Melati's old roommate, which was great, as well as got to do some verbal sparring with Melati. It makes me want to hop up to Boulder more. I miss that crowd, and I don't think I realized it as much as I should have. It was great to see the ol' crowd.

We got a great parking space, and man, this entry is sort of boring, isn't it?

showered away from smoke and sweat,
Jared


2005-05-04 at 11:51 p.m.