music-muse-ick

"Heaven or Las Vegas Whichever is the brightest and soonest to me." -Cocteau Twins, title track from "heaven or las vegas". A wonderful album, and a wonderful song. Fronted by the enchanting Elizabeth Frasier (she who has worked with Tricky, Massive Attack, FSOL, and Peter Gabriel, among others), and layers of guitar that sweetly fall on one another like layers of cotton or pile up gently like a jumble of twine, it makes for an audio format that you can practically curl up into, smiling. [Other music during this: Appleseed Cast, Soul Coughing, Dredg, Godspeed You Black Emperor] There's a breeze moving across my bare feet while I type this. It's nice, and was a much nicer night out than yesterday, when it felt like I was living in Downtown Pompeii. See, the fires currently spreading across the outskirts of Colorado were so large (and, as of this writing, I assume ARE) that the shifting winds carried layers of smoke that covered the sun. I woke up thinking that part of my house was on fire. It was actually the smell of ANOTHER house on fire, but still - the ash was coming in through my window while I was driving that day. Wild. I hope everyone's OK. To my knowledge, they are, but the homes aren't. I think if that happened, I'd really start to play with my idea of building a house out of legos. People, it's NOT HARD. It's just monotonous. But then, really, you'd have a rad place. Even more so if you were a crazy mad villian, because then you'd have every goddamn right to call yourself LEGO-MAN. It's boring here in the summer, I say. Justin is in Australia. Brian is in a coma. John is currently, I don't know, hitching a train across the states to Mongolia, on a budget of black magic. and tobacco papers. Johnathan is in Boulder, currently being propelled through various levels of the atmosphere by a KITEBOARD. I know it's hard to believe, but I find it hard to believe that a pig's orgasm lasts 30 minutes or that pocupines float. Wonders are everywhere, people. You just need to know where to look. Ben is in Vail. My dog is in hell. Mike Doughty is working on his new album. Not that we're friends. But are you aware how awesome he is? Is Chicago, Is Not Chicago is playing currently, and Mike demands to know: IS it Chicago, or is it NOT? CITIZENS DEMAND THE TRUTH. Dave probably woin't be hanging out with me since he recently aqquired sub-Godlike powers. He is currently, I don't know, melting boulders with his eyes on top of some mountain that he's trying to get the city to name after him. I asked him why he doesn't just march to the capitol and ask that they make a DAVE SIGNAL, but he said he's just "assessing the situation before deciding a career trajectory". What that means, I think, is that Dave wants to decide if he wants to help old women across the street or if he wants to destroy legions of good robots trying to stop him from taking over the moon or something. Good vs. Evil. Choose wisely, Dave. Although you should be aware of the War Against Evil that Bush has been throwing around!@# !@# What's awesome is when you type up a whole entry and it gets erased. Isn't that awesome? Doesn't that just kick ass? This, me, here, typing so you all can read this, should be one of the most staggeringly beautiful things you've ever witnessed, though. Go out and buy a "Random Acts of Kindness" bumper sticker, buy a pint of ice cream, turn on Steel Magnolias, and cry with me, people; I may not be able to attend the KMFDKM/Kidney Thieves show. The Kidney Thieves, you might say?! Yes! Female-fronted industrial songs are one of the most attractive and arousing things to exist, ever. This is a fact, pure and simple, like "air is good". What is also good is girls with "nerd" glasses. Actually, just attractive nerd girls. Smart girls. Sigh. What is also good is Dredg, the current CD in rotation. As the laser skips over the various indentions in the CD's underbelly, the MP3-format pulls out some lovely song writing. They're somewhere between Tool and A Perfect Circle, less production, more Mogwai-ish and at times, very experimental. The guy has a great voice. Thank you, Mike King, for introducing me to these rad people. All of my female friends are currently out, being social, and dating rad guys while completely ignoring me as a potential prom date. But I hate dancing. I could go practic, I suppose. Right now it's raining, so I could go dance in the rain. After about 5 minutes, a film crew would automatically show up and start filming me for a cheesy romantic movie. It's a Law of Film. Either that, or after I'm done, I'll collapse to my knees and scream WHYYYY?! But I know why. It's because I have to take physics next year. I have a suspicious feeling that everything negative from next year will directly relate to that course. You want some physics? I hate that subject so much that it makes me want to PHYSICALLY VOMIT. I'd need a second stomach just to heave up the amount I'd want to. Ah, Appleseed Cast. 'eve. mascera running, Jared

2002-06-10 at 9:40 p.m.