it went like this.

the car's on fire and there's no driver at the wheel

the skyline was tattered like frayed edges of cloth, full of twisted metal screeching and burning

as the sunset ran rivets down the end of the world.

it went like this:

you held my hand and i said kiss me, you are beautiful

and we decended downward while the gutters

overflowed

around us

poppies lay sprawled outward in pinwheel points and the world was

so deep on drugs, locked inside themselves

curl around and hold close, as the skyline trembles with red and the buildings become proud skeletons standing defiantly in the face of flames it

went like

this:

i open up my wallet

and it's full of blood

i open my eyes and

the world has turned inside out

the smoke curls in lazy trails and i clench my fists and i know it's too late for anything, the percussive past beats hard like a heart now

tasting copper and tasting your skin and tasting the blood that has come from too much too many all at once:

the choir weeps inside the broken stained glass fractions and I curl up tighter on the pew - kiss me i say you are beautiful and right before the bombs arrive i see a smile inside a kiss and it is the most simple lovely thing before steel hail drowns itself into us into intwined us

i open my eyes and the smell of gunpowder can't come out of my clothes

won't come out of my clothes

taste

ash

Jared


2003-06-18 at 8:33 p.m.