dammit.

soundtrack for this evening: Kent - 747.

It's a wonderful song and all of you (?) should hear it.

Tomorrow I'm going to drop off my application to a job and see if I can't start getting SOME money. And it's such a strange point in my life - I've returned from Italy, from taking a course in Rome and living in Florence for 3 months, to be back in my bedroom looking for work as if I were still in high school. Part of me recoils and thinks that this wasn't meant to happen.

But this is the point where the yawning giant window of "what now?" opens, and you may never know quite what it looks like when it comes to you. I suppose I can't be surprised that it would come to this, or maybe I'm another nameless diaryland writer who lives with his parents and wants a job, or to some of you, perhaps you're thinking "why is he living at home?" or "I KNEW he'd end up there" but it's funny - all notions of what I would end up doing exist right now. I wish I could call it a fork in the road but it's just a splaying of paths. Some of 'em have roadblocks and others are beckoning - rrr, I wish I could take all of you with me.


2004-01-30 at 7:48 p.m.