hello, I'm a giant block of TIME!

Absurd, this song reminds me of such a tiny slice of time. You know those vast, epic songs that you loved in good times in your life, be it DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince's "Summertime" to some creepy grave-eating Nordic goth band that you might like? I don't know any of you. It's pretty possible. But these songs, for all of their radio-perfect ~3:21 seconds bite-sized-ness, envelope huge amounts of time. One song can remind you of your entire 8th grade YEAR. One little snip of audio.

So Nate Ruth comes on my playlist. I hear a few bars and think of a very small period of my life, maybe a few months ago. All it is is me driving to the gym to go swimming. The one time that I went, unfortunetely.

I almost feel like this little song has snared a piece of my life that it shouldn't have, like some naughty time-snatching monkey. I'm supposed to remember my first kiss, or moving, or doing the talent show in 1st grade and reading a poem about being a pirate! Not a 5 mile drive or some crap like that.

Gin Blossoms takes me to the Annie kiss, which was great. We were at the free Gin Blossoms concert and I was feeling rather saucy, and said "Wait here. I'll be back with a surprise!" which now I think of to be a completely stupid thing to have said. Regardless, I ran off to the bathroom full of nervouseness. It's my personal achievement of merit to not have thrown up at any given point in this time. I wasn't drunk - for god's sakes, I was going to try to kiss Annie, and if any of you besides Brian has tried to kiss her before, you'll know what I'm talkin about. It's a challenge like scaling Everest with toothpicks, like talking about Bush to the Dixie Twins, like being any awesomer than a poem about pirates. But she let me kiss her and I have tricked her into kissing me many other times beyond that. One day the drugs will wear off and she'll hoof it to the hills. That last sentence was awfully Colorado-ish.

Annie later told me that she thought the said "surprise" was going to be me with more beer. Imagine her dissapointment. In fact, put yourself in Annie's place and imagine your dissapointment.

Any New Miserable Experience Gin Blossom songs remind me of this. Great songs, all of 'em.

I don't want to exclude any of you, but I will now announce that Laura is doing a very poor job of emailing me. That is all.

the new Mars Volta is A-OK,
Jared


2005-02-16 at 11:13 p.m.