oh heavens!

Greetings, notorious libertines of the district of 1010010101! It's a new day, and since I've got some time to kill before rushing off to work, I've decided to update this anchient, archaic blog. You can pratically hear the dust flecking off of the diaryland hosting as it lurches into action, cobwebs sliding off.

I have no real excuse for not updating recently, other than that I seem to have lost my drive for blogging, and have most likely lost a great deal of readers due to my negligence. Apologies. Onward:

After working a severely well-paying temp job in Boulder, the project concluded and that was that. After about a month of various helpful and life-changing events, I decided that, perhaps, I could still use some income, as the tree that sprouts money failed to florish in the parking lot behind my house. So, I returned to Starbucks, and now await their awesome benefits with baited breath. I'm a shift supervisor there and the whole staff is excellent: very witty, smart people. "But Jared", you may ask, "if they're so smart, why are they working at Starbucks?", to which I say "Well, turn your computer off and go drive off of a cliff", as it's not a bad company at all. Plus, a majority of them are younger than me, anyway.

I do have, perhaps, a sligh sensitivity to working there as a 26-year-old fellow, but I know that it's possibly a temporary thing. The current options:

1. Jaunting out to San Fransisco with my hetero life partner Justin, but it's unwise to do as I don't have a job out there yet. Justin has been kind enough to forward some interesting job positions - I just hope that, in the event that I DO get a job, the housing costs won't drive me out to a box underneath an underpass.

2. Continuing upwards at Starbucks, which isn't hard to do. I've already had experience there, and they do stress upwards movement. With the glut of stores constantly opening, it's not like the oppertunity isn't there. I do enjoy the company and the people, so at least there's that.

3. School? Not until I run into more money, or find a job that requires a masters degree. That's very In The Future, though. Just a thought.

I quit drinking and feel delicious, and Annie and I are still together/not together/together, but she's a Good One and one of the best people I've ever met. We have our differences, just like everyone else. We're pressing along.

My lease is up in about a month, and we'll see where I end up after that. If I stay at my current store, I should really live downtown, but the pay doesn't justify a studio or anything, unless I don't mind living in close proximity with someone else. I think I do mind, at the moment. I'm practically a hermit and really enjoy my own time. We'll see.

It's just another juncture in life, and in-between getting my car towed/barraged with tickets, which takes a chomp out of my shoestring budget, and the upcoming housing switch, I'm a little stressed. Call me, though, people! I haven't spoken to some of you in entirely too long and that's my fault. I hope you're all doing well.

The new Decemberists album is rad.

-$,
Jared


2006-09-20 at 12:15 p.m.