REM? Sure!

"Aluminumn tastes like fear.

Aldrenalin brings us near."

-R.E.M, "E-bow the Letter".

As said, REM is the music of choice at the moment. The beer of choice at the moment, even though I'm not a huge beer person, is some local brew. I'm giving it another shot because I'd like to try to support the local breweries. I mean, why in the world not? They're my PEOPLE.

Being back from Italy has easily made me appriciate the some things of Colorado, like air at night and the open spaces. Tonight (and last night) the lightning wasn't in the south... it was in the air around me, the sky directly above me, jagged and very real on the close horizon. It made for bright flashes of something like negative strobe; instead of just flashing and blinding your retinas, it seemed to just fall on everything around me. For seconds, shadows would be eliminated. Beautiful, a little scary, heh, considering how close it all was. I like it here.

Leaving Italy has also made me miss it. I miss the culture. I miss not feeling like I have a third arm growing out of my back when I decide to engage someone else in conversation. At least even there I had a language barrier but no one cared. They just liked to BE. There's a lot more stress here, I think.

Several people in the last few days have said that I seem depressed. heh. Who knows - maybe I am. I miss Italy and other things and have lost them, but I suppose there's always a chance to go back. But first I have to pass physics at 8 in the morning next year in college. If there's a god, I suppose now would be a good time to start crossing myself and praying. Eeek.

non-physical,

Jared


2002-06-21 at 12:16 a.m.