poem #1

Hey, everyjuan, it's poem time! These poems are about... you know. Girls. Teehee. I hate the line breaks on here, though. Laugh skittering out and ending

With scattered diamond fragmenting

Like leaves made from things so simply

Pleasing, swirling upon surfaces your

Laugh divided to pieces which I mentally

Snare and care for inside the nurture of

Memory, seventeen syllables maybe? Each

Polished polished, rounded, scattered like

Pebbles over glass, spreading out around

Inside a sound that that has expanded to

Surround a laughter that barely, I see, leaves

Your smile, all the while my eyes sliding over

Paper to escape your presence, instead,

Me carefully curbing, my leash-tightening learning

Curve of barricaded selection

Of red-blushed lush touch of a

Crush � crushed � is this enough?

To untwist � slack they may be � a fission-twist

Addiction to a daydream of a kiss?

An unlimited prescription to frustration/elation sedation?

Extraction of emotion � evacuation of those chemicals

Now plowing through a synapse or two; and now quickened heartbeats

And streets of mine trafficked with

Flower carts, floating hearts, pink/red hues

With the newsboy joyfully extorting: �Jared + You!�

Too bad I twice sacrificed myself to a greater

Life? Lie? A E Oh, You, I

Could be grammatical perfection, a love�s grudged resurrection

Please, though: no hurry. No worries. Don�t worry about me.

If effortlessly your view cuts through me

Reduces me to not one part but two

Or threefourfivesix sectioning the selection, sanctioning

this most ridiculous occasion � so I�m explaining:

like a soccer player with no legs,

It�s an improbable goal.

Whole lines, Sicilian rhymes, steps of poetry

Either Aligheri or Cavalcari, either

Suess or Doughty, either contemporary

Or stained with history � to me,

You be

As easy to avoid as a black hole�s trajectory

A whole gaping maw zerospace draw � all light into you and

I�m the screaming spaceship crew

I�m spiraling clockwise into you

But I�m smiling all the while � all the

Time a smile climbing unwinding like

2 spools worth of thread

all unfurling in my head

unknitting and unwittingly witless when

in a certain sphere of you, my dear.

I hear the needling pleading of my rationality

Receding � clawing against the walls of brain cells

Who regrettably dispense to me the obligatory anti-excitatory

Suppressing depression of inhibitory glory: demanding

Strands of DNA to bend, un-twist away

Before a seratonin-owing certain curtain call to all

My trying romantic ideas: idling until neurons fire: firing

Ten thousand + signs, kinds along the lines of Yes!

Suppressed? For a week, at best, unless my breath catches,

Unlatches death�s caress from a lessened grip which slipped from the stubborn

Insistence of an idea of your lips

Against mine �maybe only

In these rhymes, but time is rational, while my mind is

Decidedly not � ought to take the ball with my hands

Eat the red flag, get ejected from the game and

Run from the playing field in shame,

Storm into the locker room, full of thoughts of you,

Grab my pen and write haikus, while my team loses

Outside the howl of the crowd, I will sit with

A dozen dripping shower heads and allow

My words to come ungraded, my destiny un-fated

To forever swerve when forming a curved verve

Towards your eyes or heart, etc, whatever,

The severed romance does an awkward dance

That I don�t usually do, but for you, I�ll pursue

In my abandoned locker room

With me and my haikus

And you scan the fields

With me still out of view

And the ref screams foul!

And the crowd goes wild!

While I cry, call my mom, and the woman says strongly:

�Honey, fish in the sea, there�ll always be me to return

to when you feel like you need a good meal� or this one girl I know,

oh, she�s so lonely, she�d be perfectly perfectatory!�

�Sweet like sugar?�

�Like cubes in your coffee.�

�Mom, I like mine black.�

�Then don�t call back!�

and the clack of a subtracted long-distance connection

provides time for reflection, before this interjection of a

e-mail cell phone text message inflection

the weight of our words weighs down wires that

tire working overtime to supply ourselves and yours and mine

with sublime touches of crushes

(ok, just mine)

but never mind, even if one-sided-singular-form

because you conjugate my verbs

make sense of conditional tense.

And add my vocab to a total that seizes and leaves me with adjectives:

gentile, femenile, intelligente, divertente,

My intent: they may lend me with i verbi italiani

Since there�s 8 million ways to have an

Italian 1 level of dog-eared, disheveled affection, but in reflection

Just two ways to wade out of the mush of a crush:

A brush with disinterest or the minty-fresh experience

Of a nice, hearty, firm handshake with Death.

Sign here! Well, OK!

If it helps sweep away these silly thoughts that

Are not floating like butterflies, but stinging like bricks

Thrown at your orthodontist while he picks away at your bicuspids this:

Is quite ridiculous, an oral health misfire doesn�t require itself to

Cameo in this poem � let me let this alone, instead:

1. Taking my head.

2. Inserting into cloud.

And smiling all the while that I slide around town

Fluid like sleep in a pipe-dreamer�s dream

Thought and finger-crossed that

this is all what it seems.


2002-07-07 at 3:21 p.m.