poem #3

Element's Insistence

Probably just me

Humming to myself, trying to be

Silently, melodically

Explaining myself to me.

Or, with cautious fingers,

Mixing and picking out parts of a dream

That shies away from sunlight

Prefers to slink around my room at night

Under bedframes, through squares of moonlight

Shining along my floor, my life is

Just left of right

Can I please recoil reigns that

Have been destined to send me

Over cliffs of self-restraint

Scatter along wild horizons

Finely designed with

oblong velocity trails

90 degree angles between sunsets melting

down straining through shadows and

me, so

static flushed thrumming like a

bird�s vocal chords vibrating

systematically, shrill screaming of a

high pitched siren whine trying to find

the right pitch the right tone the

right tail-end vibrato

the right inflection, correction:

I can never sing like this.

I can never sing like this.

So fiercely alert, skin burnt from the curved

Heated surface of a stovetop

Semi-circle kiss red blue flame

Jettisoned from manifested sparks

My stuttering spitfire love that

Doesn�t bloom where I want it to,

Refuses a guide, dancing randomly

To the beat of whatever I see

Remotely aesthetically pleasing or the

Intelligently formed words to me �

I�m recreationally enflamed, on fire from

Thin pyres that wire their way

Through my skin fueling within them a

Blush from a touch or if it adds up to that much,

Such a summed-up brush with a rough abrasive

Sandpaper way of scraping layers away

Of nay-saying neighbors who swear that, if she cared,

Words would be there, but nowhere have I so simply

Shrugged, sighed, subscribed to a gentle quiet

Life of a crush unrequited or a polite shying of eyes

When realizing: I�m outshined, outside of rhymes or

Wildly colliding daydreams and desires, I�m not tired

Of firing neurons upon neurons of

Thoughts to be put her on, to rest comfortably in the liferaft in a sea

Of memory, or just send her up like a balloon

Let go of too soon, I�m the kid

Who starts to cry as the sky swallows

What I tried to hold onto.

Lost you among

Cirrus tips and contrail ribbons, you

Spin with the wind up to the ribbed

Underside of a sunset, I can�t get my view from

Letting a jetting pinprick go � so

Owing a smile or two to you, do I

Just loosen screws of the contraption your

Laugh made and wait for collapse, or just pass and relax

Inside attraction�s gap?

A sine wave, a blind way

Of audio, of a touch-and-go impression

Giving lessons in the protection of what

Hovers above love�s rush, what rests under

A crush, what threads between my feet

Keeps me moving through the street, keeps me

Reading, writing, breathing, crying, trying to find some kind of

Mind of a poet, a song, sweep me along a

River, deliver a sliver of shivering love, fresh from

Confessions or learned from a lesson, shove me

Into the study of subjects above me, teach me

To love me, or maybe exchange me a kiss or

fourfivesix twists of bliss

Insisting this: did all of it simply swiftly

Drown down to me with just this to do:

Move through hues of you dyed dark blue

As an underside of an ocean: view you through

Clipped rippled edges of raindrops on water,

Sopped wet gone to her and

Sever me sieve me save me maybe I maybe I should

Escape me.

Excuse me.

Time to try to lose me.

---

There have been numerous entries in the past few days, too, so hey, don't fall behind. It's terribly un-chic.

fdoagjas,

Jared


2002-07-07 at 3:23 p.m.