School, Adam, etc.

Listening to: REM, Automatic For The People.

I've retreated to the library for some confinement so I can figure out just exactly what the hell is going on in "Taming of The Shrew" by Shakespeare. Bookended by roughly 4,364 characters, this number is almost doubled because half of them are is disguise at one point. Jesus, why doesn't the text just go backwards at some points or jump languages? Fine. Fine. I'm a little confused. I'm not afraid to admit it because I know all of you reading will see past that fault and instead concentrate on my more glaring ones, like my three murder charges or my ability to explode when in frightening situations.

There's been not much happening, although I have been sliding towards something that tastes like contentment. Over a course of time, I have been getting used to my schedule, my home, and other things. Things seem more organized, less opaque, and I'm happier.

It IS my last year here, however, and with that comes some apprehension. No, I'm not certain what will happen after I leap out of here into the world. I think it's me and many other people, as well.

This one fellow across from me keeps nudging his head up over his monitor to look at me or someone behind me, and it's starting to get a little creepy. heh.

Justin and I have come up with The Zombie Dance. I would make a video of it or something, but since it's going to be so outragously popular in about a month, I'd just keep an eye on MTV or a major dance circut.

I haven't been writing a whole bunch but there's been a series of small, sharp inspirations that are building me back, so at times I feel primed to write down anything. However, this is usually during class, heh, so I can't really start composing. Then again, back in Italy, that's when I usually did, commonly after 2 shots of espresso.

The semester of school is almost one-quarter over, and I find that hard to believe. I already like so many people in my classes. My classes, by the way, have become so esoterically English that I enjoy attending them. Tuesday and Thursday are rad days, as I have a Fiction class and a Poetry class, both filled with great people.

I also will be attending the following concerts:

September 29th: The Doves: Hailing from the UK, this brit-pop group just released "the last broadcast" and it's wonderful. Even more wonderful is the fact that they'll be playing at the Fox, which is uncommon for a group of that popularity. Woo!

October 1st: Trail of Dead: This group is good old rock and roll, their CD "Source Tags and Codes" just rocks me to the ground, and their live shows are supposed to be something close to kissing the apocalypse. heh. I'm excited, very much so.

Sometime in November: Ladies and gentlemen, Sigur Ros at the Ogden Theater. Give me a break!@# heh. That's amazing! I love the Ogden and anyone who knows me knows that I have an obsession with Sigur Ros. Rightfully so, as they are The Best Band In The Damn World.

Last weekend I went down to Aurora to hang out with my brother and go out to dinner with him. A week ago, I was on the phone and asked him what he'd be doing for the week. "Hanging out", he said, which means staying at home. Looking at my situation, up at college with friends and such, I realized that Adam really deserves some company, and especially his own brother. We went to Applebee's and Adam payed for it, which was very, very nice. We even got free desert. Sometimes, looking at Adam, even though we don't look very familar, I can see parts of me in him, and when he's watching TV or reading I look at him and wonder what things would be like if he didn't have cerebral palsy. The reactions are mixed - I can get angry, I can be sad, but both have been felt before and they're easily available when I think about all the things involved to make Adam the way he is. But Adam isn't just a kid with cerebral palsy; he's my twin brother. He's put up with not only the limitations of his disabilities all of his life but has also endured society's treatment of disabled people. I am, by luck, not disabled, and yet I've done things like smoke (now an ex-smoker) which express a disregard for how fortunate I am. I can't forget this. And chatting with Adam, he is very bright in his own way and truthfully composes emails that are much more eloquent than others that I've read. Some things in life came up short for him and I can be angry/sad/disillusioned, but it won't ever remove me from the fact that he's my brother and I love him. And being a brother to Adam has shaped me, as well, and to wish Adam un-disabled is one thing; I tend to wonder how it would also affect me. I would take away his disability if I could, but I know no other life.

I suppose that I owe a thank-you to my friends, too, who have made Adam a friend as well. They regard Adam as just another person, and to me, that's incredibly great.

Well, off the soapbox for a moment. The minutes are just ticking by and I've got to tackle this book. Godspeed, ya'll. And remember: it's not about the bling. It's just about kickin' the rhymes.

rhyme rhyme rhyme,

Jared


2002-09-16 at 5:49 p.m.