trail of disconnected DSL.

And You Will Know Us By The Best Damn Live Show You've Ever Seen.

Last night I saw "...and you will know us by the trail of dead" at the Ogden theater and my nerves are still singing from it. What a band, and what a show. I have never, ever seena band throw so much of themselves into a live show. By the end of the set, with the total destruction of the drum kit and a tangle of wires and sweat at the center of the stage, I found my ears ringing and in awe of what I had witnessed. The band's latest album "Source Tags and Code" is a great, great album, but live, the album just surges to life even moreso, rearing up with ugly walls of feedback before spreading out and becoming beautiful, all destructive and lovely at the same time, all outlandish levels of decibles and effort and between all of this, a smile and some stage-diving and a fantastic show. The fidelity of the vocals and guitars was a bit off but that doesn't matter to me, especially when the singer and guitarist is playing, balancing on the wall of people from the crowd holding him up, strings of hair hanging from him with sweat, as he faces the stage, framed by a blue spotlight, and in the meantime the other members giving it their all at the same time, all the time. What a show.

And my DSL doesn't work. Jerks.

Jared


2002-10-02 at 12:09 p.m.