true dreams of Wichita.

I woke up around 5 in the morning with another Italy dream ringing so strongly in my head. It was wild - I lied there for 2.5 more hours, unable to get to sleep. I thought back to all the Italian I knew. I got hung up on a few verbs and tenses but just kept hammering away at it until I remembered it all. Tiny memories surface after a while, and the sun came up behind my windows while I remembered the small things that Vera did, or the cooking classes or the joy of theater there. I remember Kate and Mark and I in Venice for Carnival, and how Kate and I left a glass shop and wandered around for about half an hour, until we decided to go into another glass shop only to find that it was the same one. heh.

I tried to think of what I would do differently when back in Italy. I tried to think about what job I would want, what it would be like to live with two women who I love, what it would be like to cook dinner with music in the background, waiting for the girls to come home from work. heh. There's a gender-role reversal. I would visit Vera and Andrea, and I know exactly what I'd say in Italian. Swing by Tito's Trat and say hello. Spend some time in P. Liberta with a notebook or browse the ol' San Lorenzo market.

My ex and I were chatting today, and she said one of the most lovely things to me: "I wish I could have seen you for just two seconds while you were in Italy, because I know you were so happy." She really meant it and it was super-nice to hear. And she's right. Not that I was/am miserable here. But italy vs. Boulder? Uh. heh.

I'm:

1. Debating if I should go to the Dredg/Glassjaw show this Sunday.

2. Really excited about spending the weekend at home with my brother.

3. Nervous for my physics test, which is in 6 hours.

4. Ready for another Red Bull.

Be well and thankful for people who care about you.

Jared


2003-02-27 at 1:36 p.m.