Since you care, my mix CD. And loooove.

Hey, I won't be failing physics! Apparently, I did halfway decent on this last test. This day just got a whole lot nicer.

The Doughty concert was awesome. Mike is such a rad guy, and he's also darn hilarious. The opener, a portion of a local band called Devotchka, was amazing as well. With a far more lush sound than Doughty (although Doughty's guitar-only performances are in a catagory by themselves. You can't compare these two bands with the same criteria), the lead singer had an amazing voice. I saw him at the Bjork tribute show, as well. He was one of four singers and it was as good then as it was last night.

I also met some people from the superspecialrock Doughty BBS, which was rad, and got my TRICEP signed by Doughty, since most people were getting their biceps signed. Shakin' it up in Colorado, people.

And now for something a little more aggressive:

I had the fortune this morning of finding an old workout mix CD that I had made two years ago. And now, the kick-ass breakdown!

1. Refused - "New Noise": This song got me into this Swedish hardcore band. It starts out rock, swings into what seems like possible techno, and then just all-out flails into reckless rocking. This group's whole album "The Shape of Punk to Come" is priceless. Unless you find it at a CD shop with a price tag.

2. Oasis - "Fucking in the Bushes": A rare instrumental track from our UK boys, it uses a rad drum loop and just rocks over it.

3. Tool - "Parabola": A shorter song in the catalog of argueably bloated rock songs from their album "Lateralus", Maynard has never sounded better.

4. Stabbing Westward - "ACF": Rad, rad use of harmonics. It's from their first, less-than-famous album, and is merely a part of an entire album which is in my Top Five Albums Ever.

5. Pitchshifter - "Genius": God, the lead singer sounds snotty. I love it, though. It's what gives this rampant punk/electronic anthem teeth. And they put on a great live show.

6. Linkin Park - "High Voltage": Please, spare me from your "YOU LIKE LINKIN PARK?!" diatribes. I also like Richard Marx. My last name is also terribly embarassing. I'm short, too.

Anyway, Chester has a great voice. The screaming portion of this song gives me shivers.

7. Filter - "Trip Like I Do": This was the best thing to happen to the Spawn soundtrack. Filter has never been in better form. This was like the Filter I fell in love with, on steroids.

8. Deftones - "Fiecetera": A great narrative of the lead singer being kidnapped by a woman. So much energy, but that's characteristic of the Deftones.

9. Deftones - "Root": nd it's evident in this older song of theirs, too. It's usually a favorite of all Deftones fans. Why? Because it ROCKS.

10. Deftones - "Hidden Track" off of "Around The Fur": I have no clue why this is hidden. It's a great song and Chino really lets his singing take front stage as opposed to his screaming.

11. Filter - "The Best Things": Why didn't this single just take off and end up on the radio for years and years? Another great hybrid of Filter using a lot of electronic sounds in their music. It's how I like 'em. I would recommend downloading this. It's accessable. And rad.

12. Boiler Room - "Do It Again": The intro to this song is awesome. Then it just sags and limps along, nu-metal style. I guess that's why I always skip it after :30 seconds into it. Hey, we don't make perfect mix CDs ALL the time.

13. Snake River Conspiracy - "Coke and Vaseline": I know, the title makes it sound like an evil, evil song. It's not. The lead singer is a very amazonian-like woman, which right away makes an awesome band. She's got attitude to spare, and a lot of their album is very excellent, aggressive electronic rock, but this song has a pop chorus that is irrisistable.

14. A Perfect Circle - "Judith": A classic as far as APC is concerned. Maynard still being angry, but more melodic. Mmm.

15. Korn - "Reclaim My Place": It's not just a guilty pleasure. It's a blind hedonistic audio experience of listening to Johnathan Davis shout "What the fuck?!" over and over again, which perportionally sedates that last bit of teen angst that never went away, no matter how many horrible poems I wrote about it. Ooo, I'm so miserable.

16. Stabbing Westward - "Wasted": Aww, this was off of SW's absolutely adorable last album, where they suddenly ditched everything that made them rad and started marketing towards the "housewives and easy listening" demographic. This barely resembles Ye Good Stabbing Westward Of Olde, but is still a solid rock song.

17. Nine Inch Nails - "Just Like You Imagined": This might be my favorite instrumental ever. The progression is in fifths, which is strange, but never have I heard such a powerful song that seems to swell to its' limit before adding another layer of radness. I loop this song and listen to it for hours while I write papers that are important to me.

There you have it. Last night I was listening to Sigur Ros and Ryan Adams and such, though, so don't think that I'm not a weepy, emotional boy who doesn't write love poems about girls he's never met. And speaking of girls that I HAVE met, uh, it occured to me yesterday that you might be way too beautiful for me. Justin says it's signs of my insecurity as far as looks, which I know is true to a degree (who isn't?), but maybe I shouldn't interpret any signs from you as more than platonic, since you could be dating someone wildly more attractive. This isn't mean to say that you're shallow at ALL: I guess I just want to shield myself from torturing myself over nothing. And yet, even as I write this, there's a fluttering moth of "but what if she DOES like you?" that just rebounds inside me. That twist of excitement, rawr, I don't know if it'll ever go away.

heh, who am I kidding? I can't turn platonic. I'm not good at that. I'm good at having crushes. And I just got another one. I should at least start organizing them alphabetically.

I should dig my heels into the ground and resist, but I think I'm wearing slippers on ice. Plus, how can I fear this while I could be at war with other countries, instead?

This espresso is awesome.

bitterblack and tasty,

Jared


2003-04-18 at 12:17 p.m.