sensation + sedation

Hearing: A mix of mpthrii: the nostalgic optimism of Nat King Cole, the shoegaze guitar-wash of My Bloody Valentine and Mahogany, some downtempo noodlings by BT, and the obligatory Miles Davis: Kind of Blue.

Feeling: essentially tired, but with relief and comfort worn between muscles. My bed still has christmas lights burning around it, although it misses company, and I've got my graduation party tomorrow. I look foward to it - good people gathered for a good cause. When watching two of my friends graduate with highest honors at the ceremony yesterday, I just felt really fortunate to have such a talented, great group of friends. I'm starting to realize how much I'm going to miss them.

This entry would be easier if I could keep my eyes open.

Tasting: minty fresh breath and the current unfortunate solidarity of my lips. How poetically tragic.

Smelling: Ivory soap and scented candles. Somewhere more distant, perfume.

Touching: These keys.

Being: content and longing. It's my voluntary stance. Any day.

Wearing: white pajama pants, pink slippers, and a tank top that I bought at K-Mart for 3 dollars advertising chicken wings. As always, the apex of fashion.

Regreting: Nothing. Maybe I could be home sooner for Mother's Day tomorrow.

Wishing: A knock on the window would be nice.

Sensing: it's a centerfuge of emotions around here lately, but all of them wonderfully eclipsing familiarity.

Sensation takes a lot of contexts, but always makes me greatful for it. You all too, I hope.

Hoping: even in dreams.

blanket-bound,

Jared


2003-05-11 at 12:14 a.m.