and you know, I'm OK with it. Oh, and Bjork.

"Oh you left, you left for someone.

Oh, this relief is the oddest thing.

Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god."

-Xiu Xiu, "Apistat Commander"

Bjork was yesterday. What a great show. First off, it was at Red Rocks, which many of Colorado-ites know is one of the best venues in the United States. Secondly, any sort of cute stereotype that Justin and I could come up with for her was validated, plus more. She's TOO CUTE. After most songs she'd shout "Thank you!" but with her charming accent it sounded like "sank yoo!". heh. Ah, Bjork.

Matmos was playing with her, who are the electronic duo responsible for all the bleeps and bloops on Vespertine. I must say, 4th row at Red Rocks is bitchin'.

She opened with "Unravel" which I thought was a bit subdued, but she made up for it (not that her playing Unravel was bad, as that's one of my favorite songs from her). She played "Joga" and at the "state of emergency" part, pyrotechnics flared in the front and back of the stage. Upon reflection, that was my first pyro show. Hm.

Th string section was great. They had a harpist who also kicked ass. They also had t-shirts which were 35 dollars. Good god.

Other hightlights: Hyperballad, with a techno twist, got the place dancing. Human Behavoir turned into a rockin' show finale, and Bacholorette was excellent. She only played for an hour and a half, which seemed short, but t'was a darn good show. And Bjork would continually dance all over the place to the music, which made it doubly enjoyable, knowing that she was having as good of a time as we were.

---

Also, it was excellent to juant up there with my partner in non-sequiter, Melati. Some conversation slices from my excellent ex-girlfriend and I:

~M: "Almost all of my ex-boyfriends hate me. Almost."

Me: "...no, I'm pretty sure they all do. ...ahem."

Me: "I really love the song title that Mogwai gave. 'O, How The Dogs Stack Up'".

~M: "Wait, so how would you do that?"

[for the next 10 minutes, discussion of how to most effeciently stack dogs, in size, from biggest to smallest. These conversations NEED TO HAPPEN.]

Me: "What, is there a baby in there?"

~M: "Well... just parts."

Me: "!@#$"

And after either "Hunter" or "Human Behaviour":

~M: "I'm just... SO HAPPY!@#"

heh. What a good time. Thanks for coming, and thanks also to Justin for engaging in conversation with me while we casually left the beer stand, sans payment. I'm not paying 5.50 for a beer!

I guess by proxy I'm also going to hell. Ciaaoooo.

Jared


2003-08-19 at 10:05 p.m.