This is one in a million, or at least one in 365.

This morning I woke up to see the sunlight filtering in between branches and the crisscross section of my aunt and uncle's gazebo that they had made in the backyard. The dogs lied there, sunning themselves like seals. I stretched, sat up, and realized something.

Today was a day unlike any other. Once a year, the rapture and ecstasy meet in one collision of perfection and for 24 hours, all is right with the world.

I am talking, of course, about Boxing Day.

Canada, you may have little or no recognition from the inhabitants of the united states, but I proudly stand and say that I, Jared, recognize your rich cultural history and constant French tension with Quebec! I know your anthem and I know your flag. And I know that today, Boxing Day, I shall hold you in my heart and never let the thought of your brave maple leaf leave my mind until I fall asleep tonight. I ask the same of you all, as Boxing Day touches each and every one of us, and to a lucky few, inapproprietly. Godspeed.


2003-12-26 at 2:35 p.m.