summerblink

Wow, what a difference a few degrees makes. Tonight I drove to Justin's house with bare feet and faded jeans. Tonight the attic fan is on, giving a low metallic rumble that gradually, as summer and summer moves on, becomes the background orchestra for all of my summer memories. Mixed with the sweet sting of chlorine, and that's basically all the sensory imput this boy needs to relive every June to August.

The lawn mower was in the garage and still smelled like freshly-mown grass. I almost got goosebumps. Both of my windows are open with the attic fan pulling the night air through the house. I watched my dog fall asleep on my leg - his eyes are the same color as his fur. Tomorrow is another day at work, but it's also the second day of my new workout schedule. I suspect I'll be feeling today's workout tomorrow. Man, this pseudo-summer night almost tastes euphoric.

Some fine words in closure by the marvelous Mike Doughty's "Book of Love":

"The book of love is long and boring.

No one can lift the damn thing.

It's full of charts and facts and figures,

and instructions on dancing.

But I,

I love it when you read to me, and

you

you can read me anything."

<3

I can't wait for summer, rawr,

Jared

Edit: According to my friend Cat, the above lyrics are a cover of a Magnetic Fields song. FINE, CAT. FINE.


2004-03-22 at 10:07 p.m.