Finally, finally, finally. Thank you, God.

The most amazing thing happened today. I swear that I write about things like this with a sort of fluttering mothwing-like consistency of certainty - boy meets girl, love love love, and onward. I can't say that I'm in love, but something happened today that hit me like a ton of bricks. Hot pink bricks of love.

I had just visited my place of employment because I am a ninja and thought that today was payday, when it is, in fact, tomorrow. I finished the new Dark Tower book, said my greetings and salutations, and walked out to my car. The lot was especially full today so I parked a ways away, but it was just so lovely out that I found it nice.

I'm halfway there and I notice out of the corner of my eye that someone else is walking to basically the same place as me. You know when you have a common trajectory with someone, and it almost becomes awkward as it comes to a head? I decided to make small talk with this girl who, actually, was very cute.

"What a day, isn't it?" I say. That was just about the most non-intrusive opening line I could think of. I expected a nod, but she beamed back at me. "Absolutely!" she said. Such is the start of most relationships, we just kept talking, me leaning against my car feeling the heat seep through my shirt and the sun on my face. This girl had sort of shoulder-length blonde hair, wonderful eyes, and the most terrific thing about her was her personality. She was optimistic without being overbearing and shone as bright as anything. For maybe 10 minutes, we just chatted. Obviously, that's a signal that somewhere deep the genetic recesses of the body, the required chemical elements, synapses, neurons, and stimulants are firing up and saying "hey, guys! Remember this feeling? Let's GO!". We just touched on many subjects and by the end I had a full-blown crush going. God, I love when this happens.

I don't ask for people's numbers usually because I'm a triffle shy in those instances, but I didn't have to this time. She handed me her number as I felt myself go slightly red. Is this happening? Is this the cliche springtime sort of romance? I was expecting a bucket full of butterflies to just tumble down and complete the whole deal. But that didn't happen, and niether did anything else I've written about. Happy April 1st, you heathens.

one minute before 7,

Jared


2004-04-01 at 6:51 p.m.