Fucking unbelievable.

I swear that one of the most cosmically unfair and unjust things happened last night. It broke my heart.

My brother loves Alan Jackson, country-singer at large, very much. He had the oppertunity to see him once, and did so, at a sort of fairgrounds picnic kind of thing. The next show, however, was last night at the Pepsi center. Alan Jackson is quite popular, so I was really excited for Adam since he's only seen one other concert in his life (the previously-mentioned Alan Jackson one) and the Pepsi Center show would most likely be very loud and great. Adam woke up early because he was so excited. He also had second-row seats, which is a big deal for the Pepsi Center. Adam and my mother go to the store and spend a lot of time picking out an appropriate country-western style shirt for Adam in addition to his cowboy hat, and the night of, my mom and Adam get dressed up, we take pictures, and they leave. They also pick up Eagle, one of Adam's new friends (who is also disabled).

At about 10:30, the car pulls in. My bathroom light comes on and I open the door to ask how the show went, but instead I see my mom washing vomit from Adam's pants and my brother in the other room, still lightly in the throes of a siezure.

My mom goes downstairs to finish washing the clothes while my dad keeps my brother company. I go downstairs, and my mom is weeping. Apparently, they saw the opening act, and then Adam had a siezure and they had to leave right as Alan Jackson got on stage. They got caught in traffic so there was nothing they could do. Eagle was apparently sweet as hell, not caring about the show and just hoping Adam was OK.

So a show that a disabled boy had been looking forward to for months got completely blown up in his face by the incredibly-untimely occurance of something he cannot control. Let's pull the cute "everything happens for a reason" card on this one, OK?

Nope, there's not a goddamned motherfucking reason that I can think of why that "should" have happened. There's no redeeming thing here, no lesson learned, just excitement and oppertunity yanked away from a person for no good reason. I feel so awful for Adam and my mother and while some people say fate has a wry sense of humor, no one mentions sadism. God, I'm so angry and upset. Ugh.

Jared

np: Glassjaw.


2004-04-02 at 10:19 a.m.