top 10 concerts, you punks.

Now, because of the incredible non-existant popular demand of the most-likely mass of people who read this screaming heathen of a journal, I present my top 5 concerts ever attended. You will read because you have a sick obsession with everything that I do.

1. Sigur Ros

If any of you are remotely surprised at this, shame on you. At the Ogden, which is a great venue. Only one song in, there was a sense that something more than a concert was happening. Astounding.

2. Trail of Dead

Good ol' rock and roll, things breaking, set trashing, etc.

3. NIN

A Perfect Circle opened, which was nice. This differed from the Ogden because of the giantness of the entire thing. Epic, to say the least.

4. BT + Hooverphonic

BT is great because he loves what he does and is darn positive. A ton of energy and such, and Hooverphonic is a band who I've loved for a long time. Great lighting, and I got to meet both bands. Awesome.

5. Broken Social Scene

Taken from another entry but I still fondly think of it:

The guitarist on my far right generally earnestly rocked out but didn't sing much at all. Eventually, the lead singer gestures to him and says "Now Jason's going to sing you all a song!". Jason smiles politely, and proceeds to belt out the female parts on "Almost Crimes". If you'd heard that song, imagine the replacement. They also brought out the lead singer of the first opening band who had around the same range. Jason's voice was rad. That was most likely my favorite part of the show.

6. Mike Doughty

This guy is incredibly nice, very funny, and a great live show. I've seen him twice, and the sing-along of "Janine" at the end of both shows is worth the price of admission itself.

7. GWAR

I mean, come on.

8. Stabbing Westward

They may have lyrics that read like a 16 year-old girl's diary, but I liked them a lot and, in my opinion, they were at their peak.

9. Kidneythieves + KMFDM

Time #2 seeing KMFDM, but I went for the Kidneythieves. I'm a total fanboy for female-fronted rockbands, and this is no exception. Great show, and then I spoke with the lead singer Free for quite a bit. Also, even though the place was crammed with giant hulking goths, they were the nicest crowd I could have asked for.

10. Fatboy Slim and Chemical Brothers

Very good, but I was drunk in the last part of it and got manhandled by a girl. =[

The worst may be when I went to see BT open for Paul Oakenfold, and my car died. Arr. You know, Bjork was up there too, simply because she didn't play for very long. It WAS the first show I saw with pyrotechnics, though. Hm.

Cheers,

Jarrbarr


2004-05-06 at 2:46 p.m.