It's a song caravan!

I am now loading my entire music directory. That's a lot of noise. Now we press random and see what kicks up the dust from memories!

1. Nine Inch Nails - We're In This Together

Look, that's not my entire library, OK? This song, hm, I remember finding the music video online, which was the first piece of the new NIN album at the time floating around on the net. Saw the video, loved it, and thought that the song rocked. You can pick up on the My Bloody Valentine production similarities. ...due to the same producer. heh. Wow. That's science.

Fennesz - City of Light: Ah, beautiful noise artist Fennesz. Avant-garde experimental laptop drone/noise/pop. The previous album to this, "Endless Summer", is one of my all-time favorite albums ever. Unfortunetely, this song is from the new album which I don't find nearly as attractive, so the only memory of this song is me lying in bed, listening to it, dissapointed. And cold and alone.

I wanted it to remind me of Carnival since the album is called "Venice". No such luck. Then again, the grappa most likely did take out a few memory cells, too.

Sigur Ros - Live In Vienna - Ny Batteri: This song, in non-live format, reminds me of walking through CU's campus at night. I did it once with this album playing and found it awesome. It started snowing when I was listening to it, which is great since the band is from our favorite glacier/country, Iceland!

The live version just makes me think of seeing them live at the Ogden, which makes me think of the best concert of my life, which was that concert. In this version they appear to be heavy on the "walls and walls of screaming feedback pre-song, to scare Jared".

Quickly, before we have time to get all sad and slow with Sigur Ros, let's skip songs!

M83 - America: This is a French electronic/showgaze due and here they make a song and it's by the French about America and clearly they don't understand patriotism and the flag and eagles and gallon-sized big gulps and FREEDOM HURRAH HURRAH

Jeff Buckley - Forget Her: This song just makes me think of killing myself, just like all Jeff Buckley songs. I love him for it, though.

Orbital - Halcyon and on and on - Heyoo! Here's paydirt for memories. Essentially my entire rad summer with Paul and Justin, although lately it's been added to a naughty CD mix.

HEH, HEH

Radiohead - Motion Picture Soundtrack Radiohead makes me think of when I was most into them after two seperate times. Once was in high school, then the Bends came around and was basically one of the most awesome rock albums ever. Then, in college after Kid A came out, standing outside my apartment (which looked like a log cabin), smoking cigarettes, watching the rain gather and drip off the roof.

Heh, I wanted something a little more uptempo at this time and what comes on but Gin Blossom - Cheatin'. Besides the band responsible for my first kiss with my kickass girlfriend, but how can you beat the lyric You can't call it cheatin' / cause she reminds me of you."

Curve - Chinese Burn - Lunatic Calm remix HAHA YEAHHHHH CURVVVVVEEEE BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM UH UH BOOM BOOM BOOM TISH TISH TISISSHSHSH BOOM BOOM

BURNS FRIENDS LIKE A PIECE OF WOOOOOOODDDDD

Thanks, Curve! Man, I love this band. I have too memories of this group, spread all across summers here and times in Italy, which is curious considering that I'm the only person in the world who likes them.


:(

The Autumns - Apple - Thank you as well, Autumns. Another great, great band far too under the radar. Great, soulful melancholy pop. This song was so accessable that it made it into a Dawson's Creek episode. I love all of their alumbs, even if the most recent one reminds me of both the gym and being very sad in the dark while my gradnmother died a few miles away and I broke my sobriety for the first time. Ugh.

I've been sober for months now, though.

My Bloody Valentine - Soon. This is all Becky. All of it. Really, the whole album. Driving back in the snow, with the heater on, feeling warm and fuzzy and content. It's just another good memory.

Orgy - Opticon YYEAHHHH ORGY RAWR R AWR WARAWRAWR AWR AWR AWR AWR beep beep beep boop boop RAWR AWR AWRRRRR. Great song. heh.

Postal Service - Brand New Colony In turn, The Postal Service is Annie's album. I have great memories with this, especially one morning when it was miserable and snowing and so we just stayed in bed.

The Dreaming - Let It Burn Ex-Stabbing Westward frontman Christopher Hall does this group instead, which doesn't sound too different from SW, which is rad. The song they have called "Afraid" is one of the songs that I like to have as an anthem when temptation comes around, as stupid as that is to say.

OK, one more.

Explosions In The Sky - A Song For Our Fathers - Getting found by tickettakers while air-drumming fiercely . We were on the train and I'm glad they didn't just throw me off.

Cheers.
Jared


The muse kicks around like an angry mule, shaking the edges of its cage with twin spirals of smoke jetting from the nose.

The rusty padlock is caked thick with rust/burdensome tired deadhorsekicked limp ambition

But sometimes it comes snapgallop and full force against the gate, the giant sound of the stadium holding its breath with a swift inhale before the

exhale and sharp crack of metal and a whipsnap nerve break buck and blam: There's your damn words


2005-03-29 at 12:53 a.m.