Nada Surf lyrics and jobs.

This year has been really good for concerts.

1. The Stars, at the Fox Theater. I went with my good friend Nate, and it was great. The band is sort of a JUST under-the-radar group that does really great pop songs. Very excellent.

2. Sigur Ros at the Paramount. The Paramount is seats only, and at first it seems curious going to a concert and then sitting down for the duration, but with Sigur Ros, I could understand it. Best part: I took my mother and at the last song of the show, which was a thundering climax of noise, I looked over to see my mom nodding to the beat. She later said that the last song was her favorite. I know she's hip, but [i]man[/i].

3. Nada Surf at the Bluebird. I started getting as sick as a dog about 2 days before this show, and was flirting with the idea of not going. I went, and I don't regret it at all. Nothing grand, but Nada Surf is such a darn likable group. One of those things where you feel a connection with the audience because no one's trying to flail about in a mosh pit or yell drunkedly. Plus, they're a great group! One of their songs off of their new album has crept up on me.

For some reason, part of the song doesn't exactly make sense lyrically, but I still find it so poetic.

"In my dreams I love you like
A snowstorm in the night.
The window's open wide.
Here comes reflected light.

We can keep the covers up.
We bet it all on love."

Quoting lyrics is never as satisfactory as having someone hear them in the context of the melody. I can't do that right now, but maybe I will soon. It's a song worth hearing.

In other news, I've picked up a temp job (thanks to Justin!) and I work for my old college. I work in a cubile tucked away in other dead cubicles full of boxes of documents, and I don't think there are too many people within my age group, either. It's somewhat nice to hunker down and just do work, without a boss fluttering over me all the time like a rabid moth. In fact, and this is strange to me, I think it might be one of the BETTER jobs I've had. Then again, this is me talking after a week. Perhaps in two more weeks, I'll feel like I'm fighting off Satan with a cheap plastic rake from SEARS every time I go into work.

I hope not. Things should really hurry up and get good.


2006-03-17 at 1:41 a.m.