brr. It's cold here without a lot of things.

a blur of love

shifts signal to shape

takes color to an apex until it burns

hot and impatient on the page

me slow burning ember nestled in

the pinpricks of christmas lights

burrowed under blankets

wrapped in the sullen strength of christmas at midnight

outside, the morse code of empty hearts ticks urgently to echo around hilltops and stray radio wires.

this frequency reverberates inside my room as the heat drops from a failed furnace - I lay stripped of security and sunk in silence - and

I want to be flooded with light clean and pure as a flame's outline, heat and pressure,

heat and pressure

until I am compact and fit perfectly

on your lips.

and my morse-code wish is sent out into the night's air where it can see its' own breath and gets lost amidst hilltops and stray radio wire.

doesn't match the curved urgency of an SOS but it tastes the same way

insignificant at the moment,

Jared


2002-10-13 at 11:39 p.m.