5 days before Rome, people.

"and she and I would sleep on a boat...

and swim in the sea without clothes.

With rain falling fast on the sea...

while swimming away, she'd be winking at me...

telling me it'll all be OK...

on the horizon and fading away.

And I'd swim to the boat and I'd laugh.

Gotta get me a Silvia Plath."

-Ryan Adams, "Sylvia Plath

I had words curling around the base of my fingers when I went to write this, restless verbs that wanted to act, surrounding nouns that wanted to exist and place themselves on the screen as if a tribute, and some sort of adjectives that would act like a magnifying glass, amplifying what I felt and making it clear.

I can't remember any of it now. It's only 11:30 but I feel as though I haven't slept in days. Who knows why.

I wonder, then, what will catch you, make you look back, make you take notice, make you stumble over your words like I do with mine, tracing trails I'm familiar with while avoiding oblong subjects with words that poke out like misplaced things. Oh, my stupid mouth, indeed.

I shed my quills and am harmless but vulnurable. I'd go so far for you.

in the wake of your flood,

Jared


2003-09-03 at 11:19 p.m.