Day 45 - quick sand and snakes.

It's been three weeks since I've been attempting to cross the world by foot, and I feel as though I've started out on the wrong foot, and perhaps direction.

The jungle growth here is thick, and thick pillars of mist are gathering from the constantly-pouring rain, mist, or dew, depending on the time of day. I've rigged a tent made of plastic above two rainforest trees of unidentifiable origin, and have made a modem for my laptop and salvaged an internet connection using only tree bark, a knife, and the natural secretions of colorful jungle frogs. The result is a bit choppy, maybe 14400 rate, but after living wit ha 2600 for so long, this'll do.

The rain has actually lessened in the past two minutes, reduced to a pitter-pat on the tent roof. I don't know anything about the surrounding wildlife here - all I know is that they make a hell of a racket at all hours. It feels threatening. I've heard hissing, growling, and perhaps a few animal cries that directly insulted my mother. I've killed two tigers with my bare hands when my bare hands were operating the rather large rifle I've come with. I'm selling the skins at the first village I come to.

I'll admit that I should have at least used basic reference before starting out my trip. I had looked on my map, and then looked around for what should apprently be large blocks that said "N, E, S, W", but there was a distinct lack of them. I may have seen something nearby that started with an N, and perhaps jettisoned off in that general direction. I just knew that I'd like to go north, and specifically to the north pole. I was going to get a polar bear. Instead, I have what are several different tribe's blowdarts in my side and arm, as well as what I sense to be a somewhat bad reputation about this jungle. I'm not certain of the social circles and cliques that may exist inside all of this foliage, but I would LIKE to have a swell rapport about me, so that when I stumble upon the next village they'll recognize me as a giant diety. I assume they'll think me giant because I'll stumble into a village of midgets. Very small ones.

I am, actually, beginning to hallucinate quite a bit from the various toxins that I'm riddled with, but I'd like all of you to know that I'm doing this out of love. Once I've gotten a polar bear, I'll bring him back and you can come over and hang out with him and perhaps pet him any time you'd like. Think of it.

A polar bear.


2004-04-17 at 8:15 p.m.