Songs from far away.

Wow. I just found an old directory of mp3s that I got from when I was on IRC (internet relay chat) many, many years ago. I've long since abandoned that place, but but the mp3s are some of the first that I had ever downloaded, and with them comes memories that I hadn't buried since I had to reason to, but had at least forgotten about.

At the moment, it's a lot of old techno, but also ol dDave mathews which reminds me (incredibly acutely, no less) of lying in one side of a bed at a college then-strange to me. The CU buildings seemed anchient and giant - I knew only one window that I could throw sticks at, and she would come down and let me in. Warmth and goodness. And then, of course, the absolute equisite pain of seeing that window (and avoiding it) when I went to class after that, after we broke up.

It's all said and done now, and has a rather delightful tombstone on top (re: we can still talk and be fine), but the weight that songs can carry is amazing. I don't know what you all grew up with but it's sometimes worth it to dip back into the songs; at least for me, songs are more vivid than pictures. Really.

heh, for instance, Dishwalla's "Counting Blue Cars" just came on. Hello, 8th grade!

The playlist keeps cycling between happy and sad songs so I don't know if I want to be morbidly retrospective or happily remembering. Hm. I'll kill this entry on the operating table now, then, and put up an example mp3 tomorrow. Also, for the record, I'm very, very happy in life, and better than I have been for a while. Relationships do that. Toodles.

Jared


2004-06-15 at 8:10 p.m.